Author Topic: 2010 game review  (Read 5189 times)

DeathMachine

• Captain
    • View Profile
2010 game review
« on: May 11, 2010, 04:09:33 AM »
This review is for the newer big d12 game, not the one that uses six sided dice. I have not played the earlier version. I started playing this game regularly in late 2008. My knowledge of world war 2 at that point in time was very minimal. I knew about events like Pearl Harbor, D-Day, the Holocaust, etc. and knew that the war ended in 1945. I didn't have a very good understanding of who was in the war besides the major powers and I certainly had no knowledge of the military strategy and tactics employed by either side. My interest in this conflict has spiked dramatically ever since I started playing this game, a great sign in a game. This game really brings the conflict alive for me with a incredible depth of strategy and an an even stronger enthusiasm brought by the other players which include the creator of this game and his cohorts. Also, I believe my ignorance brings an interesting viewpoint to the table as I simply focused on gameplay (at first) without the fetter of history influencing my strategy. This review will be of the game mechanics then, although my ignorance of the war is clearing up as I have been doing a great deal of reading and am absorbing much history from the group.